ISEAL is led by a Senior Management Team and governed by a Board of Directors. ISEAL also has an informal governance body – the Stakeholder Council – which provides strategic advice and input to ISEAL’s membership and Board.

Senior Management Team

Our Senior Management Team directs our day-to-day work around the world. It’s made up of five Directors, and brings together a diverse and international collection of talents.

Karin Kreider, Executive Director

Patrick Mallet, Director, Innovations

Kristin Komives, Director, Impacts

Norma Tregurtha, Director, Policy and Outreach

Philip Wilson, Director, Finance and Operations


Our Board includes representatives from nine of our full member organisations. It guides the strategic direction of ISEAL’s work and provides final approval for our business plans, annual work plans and large-scale projects. It meets four to five times each year. The Board is supported in its work by three sub-committees: the Executive Committee, the Finance Committee and the Membership Committee.

Britta Wyss Bisang, Board Chair – Rainforest Alliance

Anne-Marie Fleury, Executive Committee – Responsible Jewellery Council

Guntars Laguns, Executive Committee – Accreditation Services International

Lena Staafgard, Board Liaison to Finance Committee – Better Cotton Initiative

Hans Joachim Droste, Board Liaison to Membership Committee – Forest Stewardship Council

Andreas Kratz – Fairtrade International

Darrel Webber – Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil

Nicolas Guichoux – Marine Stewardship Council

Stakeholder Council

The Stakeholder Council is made up of sustainability leaders and experts from the private and finance sectors, NGOs, governmental bodies and academic institutions, who meet annually in conjunction with ISEAL’s Annual General Meeting to discuss how ISEAL members can effectively respond to opportunities and challenges in the rapidly evolving sustainability landscape.

Abraham Baffoe – Proforest

Joana Barata Correia – IKEA

Mike Barry – Marks & Spencer

Karin Bogaers – Ahold Delhaize

Andrew Bovarnick – UNDP

Alastair Child – Mars Wrigley Confectionary

Crystal Davis – Global Forest Watch, WRI

Frank Eyhorn – IFOAM and Helvetas Swiss Intercooperation

Alan Knight – ArcelorMittal

Jenny Kwan – IDH The Sustainable Trade Initiative

John Laidlow – HSBC

Jeff Malcolm – WWF

Euan Murray – The Sustainability Consortium

Khalid Nadvi – University of Manchester

Nyagoy Nyong’o – Fairtrade Africa

Andrea Olivar – Solidaridad

Jan Kees Vis – Unilever

Bruce Wise – IFC

Feriel Zerouki – De Beers Group