ISEAL is led by a senior management team and governed by a board of directors. ISEAL also has an informal governance body – the Stakeholder Council – which provides strategic advice and input to ISEAL’s membership and Board.

Senior management team

Our senior management team directs our day-to-day work around the world. It’s made up of four directors and brings together a diverse and international collection of talents.

Karin Kreider, Executive Director

Patrick Mallet, Director, Innovations

Kristin Komives, Director, Programmes

Philip Wilson, Director, Finance and Operations


Our Board includes representatives from nine of our member organisations. It guides the strategic direction of ISEAL’s work and provides oversight of annual work plans and budgets. The Board meets four times each year and is supported in its work by four sub-committees: the Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Membership Committee and Technical Committee.

Chris Ninnes, Board Chair – Aquaculture Stewardship Council

Lena Staafgard, Executive Committee – Better Cotton Initiative

Danielle Morley – Bonsucro

Andreas Kratz, Board Liaison to Technical Committee – Fairtrade International

Frank Harnischfeger, Board Liaison to Finance Committee – Forest Stewardship Council

Nicolas Guichoux – Marine Stewardship Council

Alex Morgan – Rainforest Alliance

Iris Van der Veken – Responsible Jewellery Council 

Maria Julia Oliva - Union for Ethical BioTrade

Stakeholder Council

The Stakeholder Council is made up of sustainability leaders and experts from the private and finance sectors, NGOs, governmental bodies and academic institutions. It meets annually in conjunction with ISEAL’s Annual General Meeting to discuss how ISEAL members can effectively respond to opportunities and challenges in the rapidly evolving sustainability landscape.

Abraham Baffoe – Proforest

Joana Barata Correia – Inter IKEA Group

Stephanie Barrientos – Global Development Institute, University of Manchester

Andrew Bovarnick – United Nations Development Programme

Renata Camargo – UNICA

Charlene Collison – Forum for the Future

Vanessa Erogbogbo – International Trade Centre

Helio Mattar – Akatu Institute for Conscious Consumption

Arjen Mulder – Solidaridad

Khalid Nadvi – Global Development Institute, University of Manchester

Terry Nelidov – Erb Institute, University of Michigan

Carla Romeu Dalmau – IDH The Sustainable Trade Initiative

Dirk Steinwand - Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmBH (GIZ)

Petra Tanos – Tropical Forest Alliance 2020

Mauricio Voivodic – WWF Brazil

Christopher Wells – Banco Santander 

Sylvia Wisniwski – Finance in Motion